Professional Development


Professional Development is the multidisciplinary component of the BAAS degree program consists of 36 hours of study in three different disciplines. Each disciplinary concentration consists of 12 hours of course work. The requirements for Professional Development concentrations are as follows:

  • One concentration (12 hours) must be selected from disciplines in the College of Public Affairs and Community Service (PACS) at UNT. The table below indicates the disciplines from which you may choose in PACS.
Discipline Course Prefix
Addictions RHAB
Anthropology ANTH
Alternative Dispute Resolution PACS
Behavior Analysis BEHV
Criminal Justice CJUS
Emergency Administration and Disaster Planning EADP
Non-Profit Studies PACS
Public Administration PADM
Rehabilitation and Addictions RHAB
Social Work SOWK
Sociology SOCI
  • The other two concentrations may come from any other discipline taught at UNT. Please note that in some cases, the third concentration may consist of additional technical or
    occupationally-specific coursework taken from a community college, the military or another four-year institution.

Students are best served by selecting professional development concentrations which work together to satisfy future career needs or educational objectives. If you haven’t started already, it is a good idea to start thinking NOW about what you plan to do after you graduate. The disciplines selected for your Professional Development concentrations should either complement one another or provide necessary career skills.

Experienced advisors work with each student to select Professional Development Concentrations.